ISPS 2020


ISPS 2020

Prague, 26 August – 28 August 2020

Organised by IET Czech Network in co-operation with the IEEE Czechoslovakia Section
Co-sponsored by Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Department of Electrotechnology, Czech Technical University in Prague
Technical sponsor ECPE European Center for Power Electronics e.V.
Conference website


The 15th International Seminar on Power Semi­conductors (ISPS 2020) provides a forum for technical discussion in the area of power semiconductor devices and their applications. It is a small conference with the special flair of an atmosphere of searching deeper insight and intensive discussion.


  • Power semiconductor devices (materials, physics, modelling, technology, diagnostics)
  • Packaging, advanced device applications, reliability

Papers oriented in the field of power semiconductors are supposed to be presented in sessions on

  • Device Physics and Technology
  • Power Bipolar Devices
  • Voltage-Controlled Power Devices
  • Wide Bandgap Power Devices
  • Power Integration
  • Advanced Applications
  • Packaging, Reliability & Modelling.

A round table discussion oriented on topical problems of research and education in the field of power semiconductors will be organised in the framework of the seminar.


The working language of the seminar will be English. It will be used in the printed material, presentations, and discussions.


Presented papers will be published in the seminar proceedings, which will be distributed at the seminar registration. We are delighted to announce that the best papers presented at the conference will be invited for consideration in a special issue of the IET Power Electronics Journal dedicated to the ISPS 2020 seminar.


Chairman: Prof Vítězslav Benda, FIET
Members: Dr Vítězslav Jeřábek, MIET
Dr Martin Molhanec
Dr Ladislava Černá
Dr Pavel Hrzina


A summary of 300–500 words (maximum two pages including figures and tables) is required for review. It should be uploaded in electronic format (.doc or .pdf files) to the ISPS 2020 easychair conference system: before  9 May 2020.

ISPS 2020 Organising Committee Address:

CTU Prague, Department of Electrotechnology,
Technicka 2, 16627 Praha 6, Czech Republic
Tel. +420 224 352 163, +420 224 352 123
Fax +420 224 353 949


Prof Gerhard Wachutka, Technical University of Munich, DE

Prof Nando Kaminski, University of Bremen, DE
Prof Sankara N. Ekkanath Madathil, University of Sheffield, UK
Prof Pavel Hazdra, Czech Technical University in Prague, CZ


Prof Vítězslav Benda, Czech Technical University in Prague, CZ Prof Merlyne De Souza, University of Sheffield, UK
Prof Daniel Donoval, Slovak Technical University, SK Dr David Flores, CNM-CSIC Barcelona, ES
Dr David Green, Silvaco, UK Dr Reinhard Herzer, Semikron, DE
Prof Josef Lutz, Chemnitz University of Technology, DE Dr Akira Nakajima, AIST, JP
Prof Andrzej Napieralski, Technical Univ. of Łódź, PL Prof Wai Tung Ng, University of Toronto, CA
Dr Václav Papež, Czech Technical University in Prague, CZ Dr Sameer Pendharkar, Texas Instruments, US
Dr Munaf Rahimo, ABB, CH Dr Jaume Roig, ON Semiconductor, BE
Dr Wataru Saito, Toshiba, JP Dr Hans-Joachim Schulze, Infineon, DE
Prof John Shen, Illinois Institute of Technology, US Dr Ralf Siemieniec, Infineon, AT
Dr Ritu Sodhi, Empower Semiconductor, IN Prof Ninoslav Stojadinović, University of Niš, RS
Prof Jan Vobecký, ABB, CH Prof Bo Zhang, UESTC, CN


Deadline for submission of summaries 9 May 2020
Notification of acceptance 2 June 2020
Receipt of final paper in camera-ready form 31 July 2020


The registration fee of approximately 300 EUR will cover the cost of the seminar, documentation, proceedings, refreshments, and social program.


Prague, the capital of the Czech Republic, lies on the 50th northern parallel in the very heart of Europe. It has more than 1,200,000 inhabitants. For a thousand years, Prague has been the seat of Czech kings, emperors and presidents. Prague’s history goes back to the 9th century. The River Vltava flows through Prague, with 10 islands and 18 bridges within the city. Known as “Mother of Cities” and “Golden Prague”, it has more hills than Rome and over 500 spires.

A count of Prague’s culturally significant buildings comes to more than 2,000; the city has 27 permanent theatres, 16 museums and 130 galleries. As a university town since 1348, Prague has 8 institutes of higher education, where currently almost 55,000 students study at 37 faculties.

The origin of the Czech Technical University dates back to 1707, when the Austrian Emperor Joseph I established the Czech Institute of Engineering Education, reorganized in 1806 as the Prague Polytechnic. Electrical Engineering as an independent course of studies has been taught at the Czech Technical University since the academic year 1884/85. A separate Department of Electrical Engineering was established in 1891/92. The separate Faculty of Electrical Engineering has existed since 1950. It has conferred more than 26,000 Electrical Engineer degrees and 1,500 PhD degrees to students from all over the world.